Four Countries, 11 Provinces Join Upper Mekong Tourism Co-op

Share this

Eleven provinces across four countries in the upper Mekong basin have agreed to join in a development cooperation agreement that will seek sustainable tourism integration across the sub-region and its borders.

Officials from these provinces signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the mechanism of their cooperation last Saturday at the conclusion of a half-day meeting held in the Golden Triangle Special Economic Zone in Bokeo province, Laos.

Under the MoU, the provinces have agreed to cooperate on tourism advertising, cross border facilities and tourism infrastructure development including tourism route connectivity, human resource development, and integration facilitation for international tourists.

The provinces include Bokeo, Luang Namtha, Oudomxay, Phongsaly, Luang Prabang and Xayaboury of Laos; Xishuangbanna prefecture of China; Sonla and Dien Bien Phu of Vietnam; as well as Chiang Rai and Chiang Mai provinces of Thailand.

Participants will look to build a single website with tourism sites, routes, accommodation, restaurants, and security guidance for each province being listed.

In addition, the provinces have agreed that free Wi-Fi will be provided at most tourism services destinations to provide better communication for tourists.

Full story at Eleven via Vientiane Times/ANN.

Video features speech delivered in the Lao language:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share this

Leave a Reply